Worlds 2021 Play-Ins day one recap

The first day of Worlds play is in the books. With everyone playing their first game or games, and with plenty of exciting plays to go around, Worlds 2021 is in full force. If you weren’t able to watch the games live, here’s a recap for you.

Worlds 2021 Day One’s game results

Worlds 2021 Play-in Group A

  • Hanwha Life Esports < LNG Esports
  • Red Canids > Infinity Esports
  • PEACE < LNG Esports
  • Hanwha Life Esports > Infinity Esports

Worlds 2021 Play-in Group B

  • Unicorns Of Love < Detonation Focus Me
  • Galatasaray Esports > Beyond Gaming
  • Detonation Focus Me < Cloud9
  • Galatasaray Esports > Unicorns Of Love

READ MORE: League of Legends: Akshan disabled for Worlds 2021

Day One ended without any upsets. All the favorites, or the agreed better team, won their games today. The closest was Infinity Esports against Hanwha Life Esports. Infinity was able to get some good team fights, but fell in the end to the LCK fourth seed after Hanwha put their foot down and stopped any comeback that could have happened.

READ MORE: Worlds 2021 PEACE Tally: “I think teams don’t have to conform to a certain playstyle and they can shine on whatever they think is good.”

Biggest Mismatch of Day One’s games

Worlds 2021
Source: Photo by Lance Skundrich/Riot Games

Unfortunately for fans from the Oceanic region, in their first game of Worlds, PEACE had to go up against the fourth seed from the LPL, LNG Esports. The game didn’t feel close, with substitute top laner Kiss “Vizicsacsi” Tamás, pictured above, being camped early, leading to Tarzan, the LNG jungler, and Ale, the LNG top laner, getting ahead early, and they never looked back. Despite a few kills going the way of PEACE, LNG had full control, ending the game with over a twelve thousand gold difference.

Day two of the Play-in stage for Worlds 2021 starts at 4 AM PST/7 AM EST/ 12 PM BST and you can watch live at lolesports.com.

Similar Posts